Slut Shaming and Double Standards

I know this story is old news; I actually heard about it 2 weeks ago but I could not write about because it made me so angry that I could not even think properly to form sensible sentences. The story I am talking about is the public viewing of a sex tape that was held at a university campus in Ghana.

Two of the university’s students were featured in the tape and surprise surprise, the guy present in the video, edited his face out of the video, leaving only the female student’s face in the video. After the viewing was over, some jobless and sexist students decided to go the girl’s dormitory to shame her.

Firstly, can we discuss the cruelty of the guy that released the tape? You had relations with a girl and there is a video. Now, it is not known whether the girl knew she was being recorded or not and in my opinion, that is irrelevant. It is irrelevant to me because if she knew she was being recorded, she probably agreed to keep it just between them and not to a public viewing that showed only her face and if she did not know, the dude is just a monster that deserves to go prison for violation of privacy. After making a sex tape with someone, you then decide to edit yourself (dude knows the effect it can have on his future career) and leave the face of your partner in the video (giving no thought to how it might affect her future career). This is just plain evil, I mean on some Hannibal Lecter type shit.

I know some people are going to go “sex before marriage is a sin”, I hear you.  I am a practising Christian and I believe that sex before marriage is a sin. However, I do acknowledge, accept and respect that not everyone is a Christian or accepts that pre-marital sex is a sin and I also believe regardless of religious or personal beliefs, everyone is a human being and should be treated as such. We all have certain rights that are afforded to us just because we are humans and nobody should be able to take away another person’s rights without justice being served. You cannot deny a person their human rights just because they are not a Christian or for any other reason.

As for the people that went to humiliate the girl, what were they expecting to achieve? I am sure the girl already feels miserable; she does not need people to make feel more miserable. Why would anyone want to kick a person that is already down? Why didn’t any of them shame the guy? There were 2 people in that video, why is only one of the participants being humiliated? The action of the people that further embarrassed the girl properly highlights the double standards we have in society when it comes to sex; Women we are seen as sluts and guys are seen as conquerors. I mean these same people were probably high fiving the dude and praising him (insert disgusted face emoji) even if he is a predator. If anyone says anything about “the key and the lock” analogy, then I hope you sprain your ankles and have to walk home because you run out of fuel. I just hope the girl does not commit suicide or drop out of school because of this incident. I hope she moves on and learns from her mistake (these dudes ain’t loyal at all).

 

 

Leave a Reply

