Travel Diaries- Istanbul

Yes, I live in Istanbul but since I came to Germany in October 2015 for my exchange program, I have been to Turkey 5 times for my dentist appointments because I have on braces (yes, make your unoriginal barbed wire jokes; like 20 people made a barbed wire joke to me on my last visit to Nigeria). Finding an English speaking Orthodontist that would accept my health insurance was nearly impossible, so I had to continue with my Turkish Doctors. My most recent appointment was meant to be my last appointment but unfortunately (cry face emoji) one of the gaps between my teeth did not close so we decided to wait and see of it will close with further treatment. I cannot wait to take them off in August and be able to finally eat popcorn again. I am glad I got them, besides finally getting good dentition (dance emoji), wearing braces also helped me develop some good habits. My dental hygiene has improved (I brush 3 times in a day and floss) and I have stopped biting my nails. I hope I will keep the good habits after the braces are gone.

I think my German has greatly improved (naturally). While I was checking into my flight in Germany, the attendant spoke German to me and I understood her very well and was able to give answers (well, one-word answers, but still). I was so proud of myself and no one could tell me anything. On this trip, something about me screamed approachable and nice because I had three instances where people asked me for favours (I have been told that I have a mean face and an unapproachable aura which I don’t mind as long as keeps guys from disturbing me on the street). When I arrived in Istanbul, I went to the ATM to withdraw some money and a lady walked up to me and asked me for a favour. She was supposed to fly from Washington to Addis Abba but she missed her connecting flight from Istanbul to Addis Abba  and so she needed to buy a new ticket. The Turkish Airlines ticket office is after the passport control and so a visa is required to buy a new ticket if someone misses a flight which is a very smart plan in my opinion. She had an American visa so she could get an e-visa to Turkey for a fee of course. She did not have a credit or debit card and cash is not accepted so she asked me to use my card to pay the visa fee for her and she would refund me. I did help her and she was very grateful. After I left the airport, I went to a friend’s house where I spent the night.

The next morning, I went for my dentist appointment and after the appointment, I went to the cinema. I saw three movies that day; Warcraft, X-men Apocalypse and Captain America Civil War. I thoroughly enjoyed all three movies but my favourite was Captain America. I watched Warcraft because I am a huge fan of the Vikings and I was not disappointed but the film does have some drawbacks but it was very entertaining and I hope the sequel is made.

The reviews for X-men were very bad and so I was not expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised at how good the movie was. This movie and Marco Polo (the Netflix original show) are the reasons why I do not trust reviews; people have different tastes in movies and tv shows and what appeals to one will not appeal to another (I know a few people who do not like Inception, how can a person not like Inception?????). Also, James McAvoy is very handsome (new celebrity crush alert). I never noticed how handsome he is; I remember in school, girls used to trip for him, and I just never saw it because I have not followed much of this work. From his appearances on the Graham Norton Show, I thought he was goofy and funny but now, I see the dude is very good looking.

As for Civil War, I am team Iron Man. I can’t stand Steve Rogers’ holier than thou attitude and also Bucky is volatile and dangerous, someone like that should not be a free man. Even though I really enjoyed this movie, I do have one big complaint; we are not given any explanation for why Sharon Carter assisted Steve. Did she believe Bucky was innocent? Even if she did believe he was not responsible for the Vienna bombing, after Bucky broke out of his containment, she should have realised that he is not in a good state of mind. I got the sense that she was helping Steve because she was attracted to him which does make any sense and takes away from her badassery. All in all, I really enjoyed my day at the cinema.

The next morning, I made my way to the airport and I had two other encounters that made my question the effectiveness of my RBF (Resting B***t Face). I was waiting in line for the first security check (summer queues in Istanbul Airport are very long, I advise people to go to the airport at least 3 hours before their flight) and this lady walks up to me and pecks me on the cheeks (Shocked face emoji). She was already late for her flight and was in a hurry, so she wanted to make it seem like we were friends to avoid any protests from the people behind me for jumping the queue. I am a very reserved person and I was shocked at first and a bit hesitant but as someone who has missed quite a few flights (cringing face), I understood her motivation and I let her and her sister go ahead of me. My second encounter was also with a pair of sisters (what’s up with that). When I was in the check-in queue for my flight, two sisters asked me to check in with them (I know that sounds odd but after the explanation you will understand). They had a lot of luggage and would have had to pay extra but since I did not have any luggage, we would check in as a group and my baggage allowance would be allocated to them. The luggage was all under one of the sisters’ names and I was glad about that. My name was not on the luggage tag which was my biggest concern because I was scared of the consequences if they were travelling with something illegal. It all worked out for everyone involved.

Honestly, I must say it feels good to help people but hold your horses; I have no intention of becoming a Mother Theresa. I slept throughout the flight to Berlin and I made my way to Cottbus by train.

Leave a Reply

