I’m an atheist……………………..

Let me start off by saying that I’m NOT an atheist and if you clicked on this article because of the title, then I click baited you. I guess that means I’m a legit blogger now that I have mastered the art of click baiting (pop champagne coke zero), watch out Linda Ikeji.

No, I’m not an atheist but someone that knows me a little bit told me they thought I was an atheist: apparently, I give off atheist vibes (Who knew???). The person said they thought I was an atheist because I sound like an atheist (I don’t know what that means) and also because I’m a hateful person. The reason this person said I’m hateful was because I said I hate misogynist men. I do hate misogynist men, I also hate racist and people who take pleasure in making other people’s lives miserable (I guess that means I hate Nigerian politicians too- Yeah, I really do hate them).

FYI, the person I was having this conversation is one of those “everybody is a child of God so it is wrong to hate anyone” people (ok, maybe I do sound a little atheist). I believe everyone is BORN a child of God but people can grow to be children of Satan. I also believe people can change for the better but there is a point of no return for me: a point after which a person is dead to me. I may sound hateful now, but I don’t wish bad things on people (Why You Always Lying plays in the background). Ok fine, I don’t wish bad things on people ANYMORE: I’ve wished bad things on quite a few people in the past but now, I don’t even think about them and I even struggle to remember their faces and voices. I’m not the nicest of people but I’m not a hateful person either. On a side note, I just found out that some of my classmates thought I was a snob because I kept to myself a lot. I’m not a snob, I’m super reserved; I don’t interact with people until they interact me not because I’m “forming” or anything, I’m just writing fanfiction in my head

I think most Nigerians take the word hate to seriously. I know the word has a strong meaning but honestly, what is wrong with hating someone?? I personally don’t think there is anything wrong with hating someone/something; it means that I don’t want that person/thing in my life and space and so I avoid them/it. While I’m on the subject of hate, one of my biggest pet peeves is when I say I hate something/someone and someone tells me “Hate is strong word” (insert eye roll emoji). Well, I know hate is a strong word, that is why I am using it.

I’m not an atheist but I’m very critical of religious leaders and their teachings because religious leaders are very powerful figures in Nigeria and with great power comes great responsibility. The influence that religious leaders hold can be used to make Nigeria better or worse.

Leave a Reply

